What did I buy from Nyx in Boots?

Believe it or not, I put myself on something of a buying ban a while ago. Unless something ran out, I wasn’t allowed to buy anything new.

Balderdash.

I’m terrible at buying bans, and since I still don’t know if I’m going to be made redundant in September or not, I figured I deserved a little pick-me-up.

(That explains why I’ve been quiet for a while, and yes, spending money at a time like this isn’t necessarily wise, but never mind, I’m worried about my job).

Nyx Haul

This haul mostly contains Nyx, apart from one Sleek eye pencil. Since I try to buy cruelty-free where I can, shopping in Boots is a lot easier – and less tempting now!

So what did I buy?

Nyx Go To Palette in Bon Voyage (£14)

Nyx Go To Palette

You can never have enough travel suitable palettes, and given I often spend the weekend at the OH’s house, it’s nice to have the products I need in one place without having to take loads of separate bits with me.

I’d never seen this one before, and I can’t help wondering if the idea was ripped off by Make Up Revolution for their Go! palettes. Still, the blusher and bronzer are nice shades, and close to what I usually use, and I’m excited to try out the shadows!

If they’re anything like the shadows in the Wicked Dreams palette, they’ll be great.

Nyx Dark Circle Concealer in Fair (£6.50)

Nyx Dark Circle Concealer

Jordan Liberty was waxing lyrical about using peach toned colour correctors instead of yellow ones, and the one in my Make Up Revolution colour correction palette isn’t bad, but I fancied something a little less ‘slippery’.

This one comes highly recommended so I thought I’d give it a go!

Nyx Matte Lipstick in Minx (£6.50)

Nyx Matte Lipstick in Minx

I already have two of the matte lipsticks, and I do really like the formula. Originally I was going to get Butter, which is a lot lighter, but when I swatched it, this was a pretty good match for one of the Nyx Lip Lingerie shades.

I’m still not sure if I want to try those, so I figured I’d go with this one instead.

Nyx Slide On Lip Pencil in Dark Soul (£5.50)

nyx pencil in dark soul

This is a very good match for the Nyx Liquid Suede lipstick in Vintage, which I absolutely love. Plus it’s just a brilliant colour for autumn!

Sleek Eau La La Liner in Molasses (£4.99)

Sleek Eau La La Liner in Molasses

I bought this one essentially because it was a very, very close match for Minx! Plus I had a voucher to get £5 off if I spent over £30, so this was moreorless free.

Here are some swatches of all three – Dark Soul at the top, Molasses in the middle, and Minx at the bottom.

Lip Swatches

The lipstick is a really nice, smooth formula, though I don’t think it’s 100% matte. The Nyx lip liner really did slide on for the swatch, but it’s really difficult to shift so hopefully it’ll have decent staying power!

Can’t wait to try all of this lot on! Though I probably won’t wear it all at once 😉

Over to you! Have you tried any of these products?

 

3 thoughts on “What did I buy from Nyx in Boots?

Leave a Reply

