Nyx Palettes Eyes and Lips: First Impressions

I’m still on a mission to find products that’ll be good for travel, so I picked up the Nyx Wicked Dreams eye palette, and a Nyx Pro Lip Cream palette. What are my first impressions?

Nyx Wicked Dreams eye palette

nyx wicked dreams palette

Here’s the palette in all it’s colourful glory!

nyx wicked dreams palette

I tried to replicate my usual eye look using the palette, though I didn’t get the crease dark enough. Here it is (also using a shade from the lip palette) at 10:30am.

nyx wicked dreams eye palette

And here it is at about 7pm that day! I’m pretty impressed by the staying power, if I’m honest. It faded slightly but it hadn’t creased.

nyx wicked dreams eye palette

I found the colours really easy to work with, although the beige shade (second from the left, top row) is deceiving because it leaves a faint pink shimmer in its wake! I also put this look together which I actually really liked, and which stood up better to the rigours of the day than the first one I tried.

nyx wicked dreams eye palette

The verdict?

Actually pretty good. The colours are easy to work with and they blend well. Given you get 24 shades for £12, it’s a fantastic bargain. It’s also a good size for travelling, and I like to have a lot of different shades to suit whatever I’m wearing. There is some repetition among the shades, which is irritating, but based on how well the colours wear, I’ll definitely reach for this palette again and again.

Nyx Wicked Dreams eye palette

There are four different colour ways, each containing six shades – the nudes, the pinks, the reds, and the plums. This one is the nudes.

nyx pro lip cream palette

The photo earlier showed what the lip shades looked like at 10:30am. Here’s what it looked like at 7pm.

nyx pro lip cream palette

That’s after eating lunch and dinner. Sure, it had come off along the line where my lips meet, and the edges were a bit messy, but retouches were easy.

The verdict?

The shades are a little stiff and I found it easier to apply them with my finger and then tidy up with a lip brush, which isn’t exactly ideal. You can blend the shades but you have to be careful that you don’t contaminate one with another. I’m not sure how ‘pro’ they are and surprisingly, for a cream palette, I did find them a little drying. I’ll probably try it a few more times but I won’t be taking it on holiday.

Have you tried either of these? What did you think?

3 thoughts on “Nyx Palettes Eyes and Lips: First Impressions

Leave a Reply

