Are the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams any good?

With Nyx now well and truly ensconced in the UK via Boots, I couldn’t help myself from taking a look at their stand in my local store. Even though I’d already bought a matte lipstick and two of the Liquid Suede products online, I ended up buying another matte lipstick, a third Liquid Suede, and two of the Soft Matte Lip Creams.

Here’s the video review of the latter, or keep reading below if you prefer text.

So basically, the Soft Matte Lip Creams are a case of Beauty Blogging Hype. The world and his wife seemed to be raving over them, and like an idiot, I fell for it. I picked up Copenhagen and Moscow, and went on my merry way. Here’s what Copenhagen looks like, on a day trip to the Arbeia Roman Fort in South Shields.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen
Typically English spring weather

Pretty, yeah? But practically impossible to get it to last. Same deal with Moscow. Incidentally, Moscow is now making me look incredibly cyanose. Not a good look.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream
Very blue look today.

The colours are great BUT they’re a weird consistency. They look pretty thick, but then the colour goes on in an almost sheer way. Building layers is all well and good but damnit, I want my liquid lip products to be wearable from the word go. I don’t want to be wearing half an inch of product just to get decent colour pay off.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream
Moscow (top) and Copenhagen (bottom)

So not only are they patchy, they’re also incredibly drying. That’s par for the course with liquid lip products, but given you need to keep re-applying the lip creams throughout the day, you end up with a bizarre, uneven, cracked finish because your lips are like the Sahara.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream
Moscow (top) and Copenhagen (bottom)

I’ve heard them called “buttery soft” (the number of make up products described as ‘buttery’ is verging on ridiculous) and I can’t disagree more. They’re stiff, drying, and patchy. I’d have expected more from a lip cream, and I’ll be sticking to Nyx’s Liquid Suede cream lipsticks in future.

Have you tried the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams? What do you think?

15 thoughts on “Are the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams any good?

  1. I’ve tried the shade Istanbul and I really didn’t like it. There was very poor colour pay-off and it smelt really weird. In the end a friend took it off my hands!

      1. Yeah, she thought it was lovely. She was only looking for a sheer sort of shade though, rather than a liquid lipstick

  2. I got a couple of the more natural lighter shades (Cannes, Rome) and thought they worked and lasted really well. THB I think it’s something to do with the darker more dramatic shades- I’ve had no joy with them in virtually every drug store matte liquid lipstick formula I’ve tried. Dark reds and browns seem to be prone to wearing off fast, and needing to be built up in the first place. It’s very disappointing.

Leave a Reply

