Make Up Revolution Salted Caramel palette – Review!

Make Up Revolution have been releasing a string of winning eye palettes for a while now. I’ve mentioned the Salted Caramel palette a few times, so I thought it was high time I did an actual review! If you prefer video, the Youtube clip is below.

Make Up Revolution Salted Caramel

The palette is part of MUR’s I ❤ Makeup line, and forms part of their chocolate bar collection. The Salted Caramel palette features 16 shades, with a mixture of matte and satin finishes. Thankfully there’s nothing overly glittery in here! The shades are slightly scented, but the smell goes off when you apply them. There’s a definite whiff of caramel about this one!

make up revolution salted caramel palette
That plastic overlay is slightly naff…

It’s pretty much a dupe for Too Faced’s Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar. The outer plastic packaging is a bit naff but if I’m saving £30 then I can overlook that. I’ll be honest, I’ve never tried any Too Faced make up – Illamasqua and Urban Decay are about as high end as my make up budget will go! The TF offering is £39, and Salted Caramel is only £7.99, so for me, as a palette hoarder, the choice was obvious. Still, if you want a better comparison of the two palettes, I recommend this post.

I actually find the I ❤ Makeup eye palettes to be slightly better than the Make Up Revolution branded ones, and the Salted Caramel palette is just as good as I ❤ Makeup’s first chocolate dupe, I Heart Chocolate. The shades are a lot warmer, with plenty of earthy terracottas, warm browns, taupes and golds, and that lovely denim blue to create some contrast.

make up revolution salted caramel palette
Such pretty colours!

The pigmentation is great, the colours are strong, and they’ve got the staying power I’ve come to expect from I ❤ Makeup shades. I applied the colours shown in the video at 9am on Saturday, and they still looked just as vibrant when I finally got home at 11:30pm, which is an absolute bonus. I’m seriously considering taking this on holiday as my Go To travel palette.

Well, my original plan was to take the Gwen Stefani palette but given the price difference, I’ll be less upset if something happens to this one!

If you’ve got money to spare then by all means check out the Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate bar, but otherwise give the Make Up Revolution Salted Caramel palette a go. You will not be disappointed.

Have you tried the Salted Caramel palette?

8 thoughts on “Make Up Revolution Salted Caramel palette – Review!

Leave a Reply

