Day 4 of 7 Days of Calm

be mindful and unplugToday’s been a bit of a frazzled day, so I really welcomed Day 4’s meditation, which encourages you to get yourself off autopilot! It’s all too easy to just slip into a routine. So I sit at my laptop, and I totally intend to do some work…and then I sign into Facebook, and flick through Twitter, and check my emails, just because that’s what I always do.

Get away from autopilot

Autopilot is a really problematic thing because if you’re not paying attention to what you’re doing, then you’re essentially letting life pass you by.

You also run the risk of not doing a particularly good job either! What’s the point of doing something if you’re not going to do it well?

Besides, if you’re not really paying attention to what you’re doing, then why should anyone else?

I think it’ll take me a while to retrain myself not to just go off on autopilot, particularly because I have a natural tendency to daydream. That said, I think it’ll be worth pursuing because who knows what I’m missing out on by not paying attention?

While you’re at it…unplug!

I read a post the other day about having a digital detox, and while I don’t think it’s feasible to completely ‘unplug’, I do think autopilot and digital devices go hand in hand.

I use my tablet to watch programmes from BBC iPlayer when I’m commuting, and I have a Kindle so I can read too. I’m not about to give either of those up because I don’t see them as being bad pursuits. I watch a lot of documentaries so I see them as being an investment in my own development and education, and reading is essentially if you want to be a good writer.

That said, I know I spend way too much time just endlessly scrolling through Twitter or Facebook, and I’ve got a really bad habit of checking stuff too close to bedtime, which probably explains why my sleep has been crap lately. So I’m going to try and experiment of switching off the computer and setting aside the devices at least an hour before I go to bed to see if that helps!

Do you use devices late at night? Do you find it affects your sleep?

Day 1  Day 2  Day 3 

Leave a Reply

