7 Days of Calm – Day 1

Calm Michael Acton SmithI’m going to take a week long break from make up posts to try an experiment – in a nutshell, being more mindful. 7 days to a better me, or something along those lines.

A week ago I posted that I’d bought a couple of books on mindfulness, one of which being Calm by Michael Acton Smith.

Well I finally started having a look through it a couple of days ago. They say in the introduction that it’s not designed to be read sequentially, and that you can just open it up and dip into it.

Nah, that’s not how I operate. I like to read the whole book so that when I start randomly opening it, I know I’m not going to inadvertently miss something!

But I also discovered there’s a companion Calm smartphone app.

Of course there is. Everything has an app these days.

Anyway. I merrily downloaded it, and while you need to pay a whopping $9.99 per month to subscribe to the service (it’s only $5.99 per month if you pay for a whole year, which is $71.88, or around £50 if you’re in the UK), there are free aspects to it.

One of my favourites is the animated wallpaper. There are four free ones, and this is by far my favourite – pouring rain falling onto leaves!

calm app rain on leaves

7 Days of Calm

One of the free functions of the app is the week long program of meditation, 7 Days of Calm.

calm app 7 days of calm

I did Day 1 today, and it’s basically a short guided meditation that explains how to do mindfulness meditation. I’ve been reading books on it for a while, and I even did a six week course on it with FutureLearn, so this is rehashing old ground for me, but it never hurts to revisit the basics.

Being mindful has always been a bit problematic for me. I have so much to do on any given day that it almost seems too indulgent to take out ten minutes to spend some time not worrying about everything I have to do. Still, if taking that ten minutes is going to help de-stress me, then I’ll have fewer headaches and I’ll actually gain time! Win!

I did feel more calm afterwards, and I’m quite looking forward to Day 2. I’ll also be checking out the book later to see what mindful thing I can do today!

Have you ever tried mindfulness? What did you think of it?

Day 2

7 thoughts on “7 Days of Calm – Day 1

  1. I’ve never used it on myself but I have with others. I treat people who have had brain injuries and in rehab with them I used to use mindfulness a lot. It worked really well for some people and I definitely think it’s worth a go. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

