Can you really make a homemade face mask that works?

Despite having a typical oily T-zone, I sometimes have problems with the skin either side of my nose. If I don’t look after myself properly, it turns red and scaly, and flakes off. Yuck. No amount of make up will hide the problem, either, and I end up super self-conscious about my monstrous face.

I’ve tried face masks, moisturisers, cleansers and God knows what else, so I finally turned to Pinterest to see if there were any homemade remedies that might help. Enter…

The Homemade Clear Skin Face Mask

clear skin maskMy first port of call was this pin, featuring ten different recipes for face masks that require just two store cupboard ingredients.

There are all sorts of masks to suit all sorts of skin types and problems.

I plumped for the Clear Skin mask, purely because I had plenty of honey and lemon juice to hand.

But first, the science!

Why use honey?

Honey is both anti-bacterial and anti-fungal. I know from bitter experience that the scaliness on my face is caused by the same fungus that gives me horrific dandruff. Add an anti-fungal and voila! The problem is at least alleviated. If I’d used raw or manuka honey, I can only imagine how much better it would be.

And the lemon juice is for…?

Lemon juice is also anti-bacterial and is good for clearing up blackheads. The citric acid can also help with exfoliation, revealing the new healthy skin underneath. Mixing it with olive oil and honey will help to moisturise massively dry skin, but mixing it with vodka, water and witch hazel will tone down oil production for greasy skin.

Obviously if you’re using lemon juice on your face you have to be sure to use an SPF as well when you’re outside as it makes you more susceptible to burning.

Is it easy to make?

Shockingly simple! The first time I used it I followed the instructions and merrily mixed up 2 teaspoons of honey with 1 teaspoon of lemon juice. I ended up with way too much for one application, so the next few times I used the recipe I just used 1 teaspoon of honey and 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice. Much better.

clear skin face maskAs it’s a natural product, it smells rather lovely, and it doesn’t dry ‘hard’ like regular clay-based face masks. It does go a bit sticky but that’s fairly obvious when you use honey.

I rinse it off after ten minutes with ordinary warm water (no soap!) and apply my usual moisturiser.

Result?

Beautifully soft and smooth skin. No flakes! The dry patch on my right cheek even feels smoother, and isn’t as red.

I’ve been using it every other day and I’ve noticed a massive difference in my skin. It’s a much cheaper alternative to the shop-bought face masks that are chock-ful of chemicals, and it takes ten seconds to make. Bonus!

Have you ever made your own beauty products? How did they work out?

4 thoughts on “Can you really make a homemade face mask that works?

  1. Yes, it always make such a difference by mixing some of the store bought kitchen ingredients as it saves so much time, effort and money to slather onto face instantly and the good part is, as you’ve said, it works wonders too.

Leave a Reply

