Why I Switched to Mineral Foundation

The lovely Karen Rees has been testing Maybelline’s Fit Me foundation, and after I left her a comment, I thought I should probably write my own post on foundation. After all, I’ve been through a fair few of them! If you prefer audio, I’ve put a video on YouTube where I discuss my reasons. Otherwise, keep reading!

I was a Max Factor girl for a long time, switching back and forth between their Lasting Performance and the Colour Adapt foundations, until I discovered FaceFinity. Trouble was, I didn’t feel it was all that beneficial and the primer element didn’t stop it breaking down during the day when my nose became Oil Central.

So I jumped ship. I tried Bourjois Healthy Mix, both Revlon’s ColorStay and PhotoReady, Sleek Bare Skin, and finally Soap & Glory’s One Heck of a Blot, which is one of those weird ‘liquid-to-powder’ foundations that sets before you can do anything with it. No matter what primer I used, they creased around the eyes, or went cakey around the nose when my skin turned oily. What was I to do?!

mineral foundationEnter powder foundation. I’d seen Bare Minerals before and figured it was some kind of weird alchemy. How could powder just magically stay on your face?! Well I buy a lot of my skincare from BeautyNaturals.com and they were offering tester jars of Beautiful Movements powder foundation for just £1.25. What was the worst that could happen?

Far from the worst, I ended up loving the product. I use the palest colour, Stripped, and it provides such a fantastic match for my skintone it barely looks like I’m wearing any foundation at all. It covers the redness around my nose but thanks to the zinc oxide it contains, it also tones the redness down. I use the Beautiful Movements concealer as well to hide the dark circles under my eyes, and some days I don’t even need to finish off with additional powder.

Incidentally, their finishing powder has a sheen to it, so it makes a brilliant highlighter!

Since I made the switch from liquid to powder foundations, I’ve noticed such a difference in my skin! When I’m not wearing make up, my skin is softer, smoother, and less prone to redness than it was. I tend towards oiliness around the T-Zone and the powder seems to keep it in check for longer, especially now I’ve switched to B.’s primer. I do still need to blot during the day, but the powder foundation doesn’t break down and slide around in the same way liquid foundations do.

You can buy Beautiful Movements from BeautyNaturals.com, or Holland & Barrett.

4 thoughts on “Why I Switched to Mineral Foundation

  1. Thank you sooo much for the lovely mention Icy!!! It is so good to hear/see you on video… is this your first time on YouTube?!?! Such great points raised and you’ve really made me eager about trying the tester pot… like you say, for that price what is there to loose as it’ could be the one 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this, fantastic!!! XXX

Leave a Reply

