Battle of the Primers – Soap & Glory vs B.

I’ve been on a mission to find a decent make up primer for a while – I already love Urban Decay’s eye primer potion for eyeshadow, I haven’t been able to find a facial primer that I’ve liked quite as much! I was using Revlon’s PhotoReady primer but now I’m trying to stick to cruelty-free brands, I’ve had to look elsewhere. So I thought I’d pit my two most recent purchases against each other!

Soap & Glory™ One Heck Of A Blot™ Instant-Perfecting Power Primer

Soap & Glory™ One Heck Of A Blot™ Instant-Perfecting Power Primer

I’ve been a fan of Soap & Glory’s make up for a while, and I got this as part of one of the regular 3 for 2 offers at Boots. It smooths on very well, though I haven’t noticed any particular reduction of my pores. It works pretty well under the accompanying foundation, but it’s also quite good with my Beautiful Movements powder foundation.

But does it work?

According to Boots’ website, it’s supposed to “instantly diminish the appearance of pores”, as well as offering “all-day-shine control”. If that’s not enough, it’s supposed to “even out your skin tone and reduce the appearance of redness”.

Sorry to say it but no, it doesn’t do any of that. I like how my make up looks immediately after application, but shine starts appearing within two hours or so. I do get a lot of redness around my nose but there’s absolutely no reduction after I put this primer on. Maybe if you’re not particularly oily, it probably does work but if you’re prone to shiny skin, this is not the primer for you.

It’s normally £10 but it’s currently in a buy one, get one half price offer.

B. Prepared Makeup Primer

BPrepared Makeup Primer

B. are a more recent discovery for me. I’ve been using their micellar water as a cleanser for a while (a post coming soon on that!) so when I saw they had a 2 for £10 offer in Superdrug, I grabbed their B. Prepared primer and a compact of face powder.

The website promises the primer will reduces the appearance of pores, while smoothing and softening skin with Vitamin E and Aloe Vera. It’s suppose to make “foundation look better and stay put longer.” It does make my skin feel softer, and it’s a strange greasy texture that feels weird on the fingers, but melts into the face very easily. It does actually feel like it’s doing some good.

I haven’t noticed it reduce the appearance of pores but maybe I need to use it for longer. As for making my foundation look better, it does provide a smoother and more even base than the Soap & Glory primer. It doesn’t last all day, but I don’t need to powder my face quite as often, and I find that while the foundation goes a little ‘shiny’, it doesn’t slip and slide all over my face so touch ups are quicker and less obvious.

You only need a small pea-sized amount for your whole face too!

It’s normally £9.99 but it’s currently £4.99.

Verdict

I’m going to have to name B. as the winner, purely because while my make up doesn’t last all day, it does last longer with their primer, and it looks better when the oil does start to break through. My skin also feels nicer!

Have you tried either of them? Let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Battle of the Primers – Soap & Glory vs B.

Leave a Reply

