First Impressions – Cargo Cosmetics

I popped into TK Maxx yesterday after spotting on someone’s blog that they had in some single Illamasqua eye shadows. The big branch in town didn’t, but I did still manage to pick up two new items!

Real Techniques Base Brush

First up was this Real Techniques base brush. They’re normally £11.99 and this was £9.99, so not a massive saving.

Real Techniques base brush

I used this brush this morning and I have to say, it definitely made a difference compared to my other foundation brush by W7. My other brush has a tendency to just smear product around my face, while this one allowed me to stipple it and actually buff it into the skin. I actually felt like I achieved a more even finish, and I think I even used less product! Definitely a good buy.

Cargo Cosmetics – Shanghai Nights

Next up was this eye shadow palettes by Cargo, called ‘Shanghai Nights’.

Cargo Shanghai Nights palette

It was only £9.99 and it was only when I got home and Googled it that I saw it’s £24.50 in Debenhams! Just look at that packaging though! I loved the outer box, and it’s got a magnetic flap to keep it closed.

Cargo Shanghai Nights palette

You get twelve shades, including matte, satin and shimmer finishes, and a double ended brush. I pretty much bought it for the central four shades but I think I’ll have fun with that dark blue!

This morning I did this look with it;

Cargo Shanghai Nights palette

I put Hu all over the eye area as it’s one of the matte shades and therefore makes a good base. Next I put Lychee all over the eyelid, and blending Jin Mao from the crease up the brow bone. Finally I blended Jade into the socket, and ran Street Style along the lower lashes.

Cargo Shanghai Nights palette

I’ll be honest, I was a little disappointed by the pigmentation as the four shades I used weren’t as ‘bright’ as they appeared in the pan. That said, they blended well and I didn’t notice much fall out at all. I might give them a go over a white base to make the colours pop, or try them wet. Still, I’m impressed by the finish so far!

Have you used Cargo Cosmetics before?

One thought on “First Impressions – Cargo Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

