Sleek Haul

I got a mini haul from Sleek the other day – I’ve had my eye on their Enchanted Forest palette for a while so I finally decided to treat myself during their Bank Holiday shipping offer. As I was buying from them anyway, I also picked up one of their True Colour lipsticks, as well as a tester palette for their Creme-to-Powder foundation.

Instead of posting the photos and then doing a separate review, I figured I’d do the two together!

Creme to Powder Foundation Tester Kit in Fair/Light – £2.99

The tester palette contains small samples of the five shades they consider to suit fair to light complexions – it’s only £2.99 so it’s a great way to find out what shade is best without spending £7.99 on the full size product and then finding it’s completely the wrong colour.

I normally buy the lightest shade of most foundations, but found the best match for my skin was – strangely – Shell! I reckon it’ll go towards Oyster as winter sets in and I need something paler. I don’t think I’ll ever need White Rose though as it was far too dark.

The formula isn’t as easy to apply as some of my liquid foundations, but it proved to be an absolutely perfect match for my skin tone, and dried to a powder finish really quickly. It also worked very well with my Sleek concealer under my eyes to hide my horrific purple rings. It seemed to show a little shine on my oily areas within an hour or so, but I topped up my powder and then it lasted pretty well throughout the day.

I was super impressed the first time I tried it but the second time it broke down horribly due to oil on my nose so I’ll need to try it a third time before I can ‘yay!’ or ‘naaaay’ it.

Vamp lipstick – £4.99

This is a gorgeous dark red matte shade that seemed like a perfect colour for autumn. It is beautiful, and it really is extremely matte, but I’m not 100% convinced by it yet. It doesn’t handle reapplication well, and it went a bit patchy the second time that I put it on.

That said, it is a gorgeous colour so I might have to try it in conjunction with my Urban Decay Lip Primer to see if that makes a difference! So far I’ve been wearing it with my Make Up Revolution liner in Vamp and I may need a slightly lighter one that will better match the colour. Watch this space!

Enchanted Forest eyeshadow palette – £7.99

Just look at those colours! Beautiful, aren’t they? The twelve shades are comprised of four mattes and eight shimmers, though none of them are overly glittery (thankfully). As ever, the shades have good staying power, and they blend well. I’m actually quite glad there’s no black shade, as the super deep purple (bottom right) makes a more interesting dark shade.

I’ve used it a couple of times now, and here are examples of the looks I’ve used it for. Personally, I prefer the pink/purple look as it’s bright and cheerful without being neon – and I think the plum matte will be beautiful as an autumnal shade for a seasonal smoky eye.

Have you tried any of these Sleek products, and what did you think of them?

2 thoughts on “Sleek Haul

Leave a Reply

