#Review: Urban Decay Naked Smoky palette

Whoa, I just realised I haven’t updated in a while! I hadn’t bought anything new and I wasn’t sure what to write about. ANYWAY. I’ve been using the Urban Decay Naked Smoky palette loads since I bought it, so I figured I’d finally write a review. I only bought it nineteen days ago!

In a nutshell, I love it. I’m particularly fond of the matte shades, and they blend incredibly well, especially using the double-ended brush that comes with the palette. I’m using fewer shimmer or glitter shades as I get older so decent mattes are a must. Combust is the perfect transition shade, and I think Password is probably my favourite grey eyeshadow ever!

I’ve mostly been doing looks like this with it;

This one uses Combust as a transition shade, with Password in the crease, and Armor all over the eyelid. I’m wearing Dagger along my lower lash line, with plenty of Urban Decay liquid liner.

Today I’m wearing it like this;

I put Maybelline Color Tattoo in (Black) over the eyelid, excluding the inner third, and then I packed Smolder all over it, smoking it out in the crease. Here, I blended it with Combust, and I used Thirteen as a highlight. I also smudged Black Market into the outer corners, and along the upper lashline, for more depth. I’ve got Radar in the inner third, with High press into the inner corners of my eyes.

I skipped liquid liner and just used lots of Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara but I think it would work better as an evening look with false eye lashes.

In short, it’s a beautiful palette, and why I haven’t included photos of all the looks I did, I’ve been able to achieve soft, nude daytime looks as well as stronger looks full of grey and purple. It’s the kind of palette I’d take with me if I was travelling as it fulfills so many of my make up needs!

The colours are a joy to work with, and while I don’t use the first three very often, it’s nice to have them there as an option. Quite a lot of the nude palettes I’ve seen focus on ‘warmer’ colours so I quite like having so many cool tones in one place. The packaging is also beautiful, the full size mirror is a great perk and I do like the brush!

Verdict: Buy it!

2 thoughts on “#Review: Urban Decay Naked Smoky palette

Leave a Reply

