Urban Decay Naked on the Run [Review]

I’m a sucker for all things Urban Decay, and I’m fascinated by the various ‘multi purpose palettes’ that are available now (like Aura by Illamasqua, reviewed here).

So when I saw the Naked On the Run palette, I was intrigued. It contains;

  • Six eyeshadows in (left to right) Dive, Fix, Resist, Dare, Stun and 5050, which is the larger one to the bottom right;
  • A medium bronze matte bronzer;
  • A pink blush;
  • Travel-size Perversion Mascara in blackest black;
  • Travel-size 24/7 Glide-On eye pencil in Stag, which is a soft brown; and
  • A full-size Naked lipgloss in Sesso.

For an all-purpose palette that’s designed to be used ‘on the go’, it’s surprisingly big, being much deeper than the alternatives by Illamasqua or Sleek, but the inclusion of a full-size lipgloss is nice! Their thinking is that you can swap it out for a different colour to change your look, but it’s a pity that the eye pencil and mascara are only travel-size, making swapping colours (or topping up the products when they run out) a bit difficult.

However the eyeshadows are all designed to work together, so I had a go at making a daytime and a night time look using just the shades in the palette (although the liquid eyeliner isn’t by Urban Decay, it’s my godawful Max Factor one that I’m trying to use up!)

Look 1 – Daytime

This one features Dive all over the lid, with Dare at the outer corner and in the crease, and 5050 up to the brow bone, with Stag smudged along the lower lashline. I’m wearing the blush on my cheeks, with the bronzer to lightly contour under my cheekbones. I even used Dare in my eyebrows!

Look 2 – Night Time

This one has Stag in the crease, covered with Dare for more depth, with Dive and Resist on the lid. I used Fix as a transition colour and 5050 as a highlighter. Then I put plenty of Stag and Dare along my waterline and lower lashes, with Dare in my eyebrows. On my lips, I actually used a Max Factor lip pencil in Pink Petal, then covered that with a slick of Sesso, just to get more colour, but it seems to have lost some of its ‘red’ in favour of the pink of the pencil.

The Pros…

The lipgloss is lovely. It’s not that highly pigmented but it’s very moisturising and didn’t feel sticky or ‘goopy’ once applied. It’s nice on its own for a quiet pop of colour during the day, but it’s also good over a nude lip pencil for a sense of shimmer. The brown eyeliner makes a nice change from my usual black, and the eyeshadows really do work together.

The Cons…

Swapping the sizes will be difficult, as stated above, and the box is larger than I was expecting so it’s not quite as ‘travel-size’ as it appears. I’d have liked a much darker eyeshadow for blending in the crease, but that’s just how I do my eyes, and using Stag before the eyeshadow seems to do the trick. A few bloggers have also noted the lack of applicators, which also stops this being truly a ‘one stop shop, and the bronzer isn’t quite the right shade for my skintone.

Verdict!

It’s a nice palette and I do like the products in it which are all the high quality I’d expect from Urban Decay, but its size, and lack of applicators, mean I’ll probably just use it as a regular ‘all in one’ palette at home, rather than taking it travelling with me!

I award it…4/5!

5 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked on the Run [Review]

Leave a Reply

